Our website uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to browse you are giving us your consent to our use of cookies. Read Policy

Henman, Ivanisevic & Rusedski to captain teams in new Champions Tennis format

November 18, 2019

Champions Tennis at the Royal Albert Hall is just more than one week away, and there are plenty of reasons to be excited about the season finale.

This will be the 23rd edition of this event, and there will be a new format this time around, with three teams captained by Tim Henman, Goran Ivanisevic and Greg Rusedski. Each captain will be joined by two more tennis legends, with teams facing off in ties that consist of two singles match and one doubles match.

Joining Henman will be 11-time ATP Tour champion Mark Philippoussis and former World No. 3 David Ferrer, who made his ATP Champions Tour debut earlier this year. The trio combined to win 49 tour-level singles titles in their careers.

ATP Champions Tour newcomer and fan favourite Marcos Baghdatis as well as former World No. 2 Tommy Haas will be on Team Rusedski. Haas made the final at Champions Tennis last year and won the 2018 Legends Cup in Mallorca.

The final team consists of 2001 Wimbledon champion and former World No. 2 Goran Ivansivevic, former World No. 1 and 2018 Champions Tennis winner Juan Carlos Ferrero and Belgian star Xavier Malisse.

“We’re also very excited to debut a brand-new format for the tournament,” Champions Tennis Tournament Director Charlie Grave said. “The players are incredibly competitive so we know that this will take the action to the next level. 2019 is set to be bigger and better than ever before.”

What A Legend Has To Say About Champions Tennis

“I think it’s the best tournament in the world. It’s an indoor tournament. The site is so special… it makes it so, so special, especially in London just before Christmas, it’s beautiful. We love it. I just love coming back.”

– Mansour Bahrami


Thursday, 28 November 2019

1:30pm – Team Tim vs. Team Greg
David Ferrer vs. Marcos Baghdatis
Tim Henman/Mark Philippoussis vs. Tommy Haas/Greg Rusedski
Mark Philippoussis vs. Tommy Haas

7:30pm – Team Tim vs. Team Goran
Mark Philippoussis vs. Juan Carlos Ferrero
Tim Henman/David Ferrer vs. Xavier Malisse/Goran Ivanisevic
David Ferrer vs. Goran Ivanisevic

Friday, 29 November 2019

1:30pm – Team Goran vs. Team Greg
Goran Ivanisevic vs. Tommy Haas
Xavier Malisse/Juan Carlos Ferrero vs. Tommy Haas/Greg Rusedski
Juan Carlos Ferrero vs. Marcos Baghdatis

7:30pm – Team Greg vs. Team Tim
Tommy Haas vs. David Ferrer
Marcos Baghdatis/Greg Rusedski vs. Tim Henman/David Ferrer}
Marcos Baghdatis vs. Mark Philippoussis

Saturday, 30 November 2019

1pm – Team Goran vs. Team Tim
Juan Carlos Ferrero vs. David Ferrer
Xavier Malisse/Goran Ivanisevic vs. Tim Henman/Mark Philippoussis
Goran Ivanisevic vs. Mark Philippoussis

6pm – Team Greg vs. Team Goran
Marcos Baghdatis vs. Goran Ivanisevic
Greg Rusedski/Marcos Baghdatis vs. Xavier Malisse/Juan Carlos Ferrero
Tommy Haas vs. Juan Carlos Ferrero

Sunday, 1 December 2019
5pm – Champions Tennis Final